How Godaddy stole my blog, legally

I hope this still fires off in your readers, if not, well, crap.

I’ve been offline pretty much since the day after my last post, unaware that my domain name expired – mistake is mine, I wrongly thought I had the domain until December 2012, when in fact it was Dec. 2011.

A friend asked what was happening with underct.com, and why it was showing some Godaddy advertisements.  Now it’s showing something else, but piecing together what happened is pretty simple:

-underct.com expires as my domain name

-Godaddy registers it to themselves, keeping track of which domains expire when and knowing if they are “free” to scoop up

-Godaddy now advertises shit on underct.com and lets me “buy” the domain name if I wish to.

Premium Domain Name

Ah but here’s the catch.  Based on some weird algorithm they run around web searches for the term “underct” they believe the domain name has value, and will gladly let me have it back for 1800$ Canadian.

 

underct

 

So, that’s all she wrote for “underct.com”, I’m back to underct.wordpress.com .  If you could update your blogrolls where applicable and readers if you can, that’d be cool.  I only hope this actually reaches people.

There is a slight issue with firefox where it insisted on redirecting me to the old domain even if I typed the full address, and I fixed that by deleting some of my history and cache.

9 Responses to “How Godaddy stole my blog, legally”


  1. 1 Dusty_Ashes February 5, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    All I have to say is fuck Go Daddy

  2. 2 hayfayfay February 6, 2012 at 1:58 am

    What a load of horseshit! Although, I shouldn’t be surprised because I’ve attempted to buy a domain many times and they’re always parked by GD. *sigh* Like I’m really going to pay that much money for a domain name.

  3. 3 Saga February 6, 2012 at 9:40 am

    I hate that they can do that. I’ve never lost one (yet.. *knock on wood*), but I’ve been after spellbound.com for years and it’s always just filled with ads. It’s obviously it’s not a “real” site, but I’d never pay the fortune they’re likely wanting for it.

    Sorry to hear you lost yours, I wish there was more of a grace period before others could pick up your domain name.

  4. 5 Elkagorasa February 6, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    sorry to hear. I had the same issue last July, but then didn’t lose the domain because I opted for the $0.99/year .INFO domain. Some reason those just don’t have the same demand. Now I have a reminder on my calendar to renew the domain for next time.

  5. 6 repgrind February 7, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Done. Putting you back on my blogroll right now. 🙂

  6. 7 Leandra February 13, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Aha, there you are! No, sadly it didn’t update in Google reader, but I figured you were still out there somewhere. What shitty thing to happen. :-/

  7. 8 onweikenna January 24, 2013 at 10:14 am

    too bad dear, i lost mine http://www.listoo.com because i failed to register it

  8. 9 CNC Plasma Cutters March 2, 2014 at 10:52 am

    Thanks to my father who shared with me concerning this webpage,
    this web site is actually remarkable.


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 235,716 victims
February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

