Proof of life

Forgive me Father, for I have sinned.

I have been raiding in a way that can be described as regularly since a few weeks before Christmas.  A steady enough group (2 members of which raided back in Ulduar with me) and a steady Sunday night raid time with an occasional second day added in.  Took a two week break for the holidays and my Cuban vacation.

And you know, it’s enjoyable in a way that previous raiding did not achieve, but I find it hard to explain.

1- No, it is not more challenging than previous expansions.  Far from it.  It seems infinitely easier on normal mode.

2- No, it is not more rewarding than previous expansions.  The most we wiped was maybe a full raid night on Warmaster Blackhorn, and getting him down felt good but in the same way that winning a game of solitaire feels after you’ve failed 3 or 4 in a row.

3- No, the fights are not any more enjoyable in and of themselves. 

4- The trash is awful.  C’mon, 21 slimes?  150 dragons?  It feels like you’re literally killing the same exact trash mob over and over and over and then BAM, BOSS FIGHT.

 

So why am I enjoying it?  If I was to venture a guess, it’s because it seems that while hardcore raiding of days past (of which I was a part of and enjoyed greatly as well) is done for good, enjoyable raiding that doesn’t destroy groups of friends or guilds is thriving.  I admit, this could be the result of having a more burnt-out group that no longer cares about raiding that much, it could result from a different personal approach, or a multitude of other things. 

End result is that I’m raiding easier content on a lesser commitment and finding it fun.

 

Have an Illidan.

illidanjump

5 Responses to “Proof of life”


  1. 1 Tania January 23, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    If you’re including me of the “two” who raided Ulduar, I was not. I did everything BUT Ulduar, Ulduar was broken computer days.


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 235,681 victims
January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

