What’s your DPS? >.>

Someone asks on /2 for a dps for Council and Cho’gall.

image

 

Many bloggers have ranted about this question, and now I join the club.  Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t going to join that raid regardless of whether or not I got tossed an invite…  when the leader is that incompetent I can’t be bothered.

My complaint isn’t because I’m butthurt, I’m not, I was being a trolly bastard to this guy…  it’s the essence of the question that reminds me how many dumb people there are out there in WoW.

“What’s your DPS”

What they want to hear is a number.  Any random number that pops into your head that you think will be high enough to make them give you an invite.  So, in this case, I should have said, 18-20k.  That would be about on par with the average puggers’ expectation of what really good dps can do.  That I used to do 26-30k on Council is irrelevant here, because if that’s the number I provide, then the 16-20k I do on Cho’gall will make it look like I slacked.

Chances are that someone who just asks “what’s your DPS” doesn’t understand that each fight is different.

And if you tell them “my training dummy dps tops out around 14k” they’ll think you’re bad at the game, yourself, because you have low numbers.

lesson to be learned here: inspect peoples’ gear, check their enchants/gems and figure out on your own if they’re competent or not.  Don’t ask stupid questions like “what’s your dps”.

2 Responses to “What’s your DPS? >.>”


  1. 1 Saga July 9, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    I find PUG groups annoying in general – they always expect too much. It’s extra silly when it’s for Baradin Hold or something easy. As long as someone is decently geared and seem to know what they’re doing, nothing else matters.

    I still remember getting turned down for Azgalor in BH on my Warlock because the raid leader inspected me and saw 3 PvP items. They were the 3 slots that are the most difficult to get as a caster and I hadn’t received anything better from Heroics (my epic PvP items were better itemised than whatever blues I’d managed to get my hands on, and raids refused to drop the items).

    I’d probably easily have kept up with the dps of everyone else in the raid, but he just saw the 3 PvP items and dismissed me.

    Nothing’s ever clear cut, and I get frustrated when people try to make it out to be. Sure, you probably shouldn’t join a raid in green gear – but anything else and I’m not too bothered. I like to give people a chance.

  2. 2 Tania July 9, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Pugs make me sad. I know that, even only semi-geared, I can do better than most healers. But they’ll take someone better geared without a second thought. Sadface.

    My dps is not to be spoken of. I don’t understand why I can’t get shadow rotation down. >.<


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 235,714 victims
July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

