Items that move

One of my many complaints about Wrath and Cata is that the end game does not allow for variation.  Every guild worth their salt is fighting the same bosses with the same strategies.  Every player worth anything has the exact same gear as every other player of that class. 

To those of you who did not play prior to these expansions, I will summarize the difference thusly:

Vanilla/BC:  hardcore guilds are in the latest tier. Hardcore pvpers have the latest arena gear.  more casual raiders are a tier behind. Pvpers with honor gear.  Very casual raiders have entry level gear (Kara, for example).  Pvpers have some weird rep gear.  People who don’t raid have dungeon tier gear.  People have all sorts of quest gear.

In short, players form a veritable kaleidoscope of colorful gear.

Wrath/Cata:  anyone who raids or not has gear that looks the same, even people who only do dungeons will eventually acquire current tier gear. All pvp tiers are variations of the same look.

In short, everybody has the same items.

This is boring.

Uniformity is boring.

Even novelty items are owned by all. The rainbow generator? The piccolo? Various other trinkets…

Now then, there must still exist some type of item that is outside of the norm.  Something that makes everyone stop and stare, or ask, or join whatever is happening.

To my knowledge, two such groups of items exist, the Frostmourne chest items and trading card loot.

Obviously this is an introduction to an upcoming post but I would like any reader to give it a moment’s thought… What items stand out in your mind? Which items have you seen transform an event?  Do any bridge the gap between factions?  Even on a pvp realm?

See you soon! I promise you something which revolutionized Tol Barad, shifting angry warfare to peaceful times where enemies refused to fight…  Such is the power of this item I will present!

8 Responses to “Items that move”


  1. 1 Tania May 30, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    I want them to bring back priest wings and haloes. I liked undead Morg’s halo and little winged shoulders.

    As to items, no, I have nothing interesting I can share with alliance. They can’t share my lovely picnics. 😦

  2. 2 Lisa May 31, 2011 at 3:01 am

    It’s interesting to hear you say all this – even though I haven’t played for years now, I was listening to my dad and his friend reminisce this weekend (they’ve been playing together since launch), and his friend’s biggest complaint was the lack of uniformity among horde/alliance and character classes. For example, letting both sides have Shamans and Paladins, and giving too many classes stuns/invis/other ‘special’ abilities to the point where no class has a class it’s particularly strong or weak against anymore. Maybe it helps ‘balance’ the game, but it’s poor design overall.

  3. 3 Saga May 31, 2011 at 9:03 am

    I don’t know if it’s in an attempt to make your clothes fit better together – but I find it a bit sad that the off-set pieces that you get from raid bosses look exactly like the Tier pieces.

    Like, might Priest has the BoE item from raids Dizzee’s Whirling Robes (I think that’s the name) and my Warlock has her T11 chest. Both look exactly the same. So in essence, you can look like you’re wearing T11 gear without actually wearing it.

    I think it’s a shame. I’m not too bothered with people getting the raid level gear eventually (as long as it’s not as quick as actual raiders) – since it helps with gearing up alts or people who are a bit behind and need to catch up to their raid group if they’re new.

    But I would like the Tier sets especially to have their own look – and maybe Valor/Justice gear should just be a different set with different looks.

    • 4 latusthegoat May 31, 2011 at 9:51 am

      Oh, yes, I dont care about peoples’ progression level, I just wanted to quickly explain why the world was more diverse.

      And yeah, seems like all tiers have matching off pieces. You can for sure look like a mage in tier 11, I guess some priesty and warlock stuff is also available.

      ZA/ZG is a special case now, but its gear is so ill matching to anything but itself that I dont know what to make of it.

      • 5 Saga May 31, 2011 at 2:15 pm

        Oh, I know.. My Warlock looks like some horribad Warlock-Mage hybrid currently.. Make it stop! Mages are bad and I don’t want to look like one! *shudders*

  4. 6 Ankatra June 9, 2011 at 11:11 am

    I remember when you could stand around in the Shattrath bank and sometimes be the only person in high-end tier gear, and watch as people would come up and inspect you because your character looked so awesome… and yeah that was mostly just ego-stroking, but you’re right that the world is pretty boring now, at least in terms of how characters look. Everyone looks the same, and all tier gear looks pretty crappy now anyway. 😦


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 235,716 victims
May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

