Resilience will REALLY fix it

First of all, Vancouver… I’m so jealous of you right now.  You’re in the Stanley Cup finals.  I saw those shots of the people in the streets, celebrating the tying goal with 14 seconds left.  I remember those days in Toronto and we never got that far in my living memory.  Congrats, and keep on trucking.  I’m rooting for you but I have no actual attachment there.  I’m so jealous.

 

Now, onto resilience.  Morgaina brough up in one of her comments that the crafted gear was not so bad for a starter pvp set, so I went and had a look.  While she was off in her claim that it was only a couple resilience points off, she was definitely right that it was a pretty awesome way to get pvp gear without a 2 year grind for honor.  We’ll forgive her because she’s from the hippy state of canada and their minds are all pretty hazy.  And she’s got a legal right to cheer for Vancouver, which further makes me jealous, son of a bitch!

Anyways, there are two ways to look at this comparison:

Firstly, you can think of the crafted pvp set in its entirety of 8 pieces : head, shoulder, chest, wrists, hands, belt, legs, feet.

Second, you can look at it as crafted gear VS honor set, ie: 5 pieces: head, shoulder, legs, hands, chest.

 

Here is the comparison between all 8 pieces to their equivalent 8 honor pieces.

And here is the 5 pc comparison.

 

As you can see, the honor gear is lightyears ahead of the crafted one and that’s before we even look at the 8 (or 10) sockets that are waiting to be filled in the honor gear.

HOWEVER, the crafted gear is even more lightyears ahead of pve gear. 832 resilience in the 5pc, 1192 in the full 8 piece…  it adds up, and it helps you get a better chance at actually acquiring conquest points and makes grinding honor that much easier.

 

With all this in mind, I’ve blown almost my entire gold reserve on Cowtch to power level my leatherworking.  Spending 3-5k on the full set of crafted gear? Unacceptable.  Spending 10-15k on leatherworking? Somehow makes more sense.

 

UGH

6 Responses to “Resilience will REALLY fix it”


  1. 1 Saga May 25, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    For some reason the links to Wowhead won’t work for me, but I just wanted to remind you that the crafted PvP gear gets an upgrade in 4.2 (unless those are the ones you linked to).

    So don’t craft anything now, but wait for 4.2 when you can craft the new versions. Anything crafted before then won’t be upgraded, only the recipes themselves.

    I’m sitting on some bars and stuff myself to craft my Paladin her gear once 4.2 hits, since I don’t want to do it now when I know soon the better stuff will be here 🙂

    • 2 latusthegoat May 25, 2011 at 5:44 pm

      Ooh, that’s right, thanks for reminding me! … even if it simply means that I’ll craft a second set again when 4.2 hits. I’m not the most patient of people when it comes to getting the gear I want unless it’s raiding gear, then it’s a different story. Stuff I can make, however? NOWWWWWW 😀

  2. 3 Tania May 25, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    I was not off! I checked many times while pondering which to buy, and per piece, the resilience is not that different. Unless I’m broken, either in game or memory.

    And since the Canucks are the only Canadian team in the running, and you’re in Canada last I checked, you have that as a claim. 😛

    • 4 Tania May 25, 2011 at 4:07 pm

      And also it’s “Morgania” now. Which is a stupid sounding name, but I’m not about to pay for a namechange.

    • 5 latusthegoat May 25, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      The 5 piece resilience on crafted set is 832 in total, and on the honor set it is 955 BUT there is the 400 resilience bonus for having it. So that makes it way better. BUUUUUUT the crafted set is still infinitely better than I imagined it would be, and will be even better once 4.2 hits, as Saga pointed out.

      • 6 Tania May 25, 2011 at 7:36 pm

        Oh, well, bonuses are always nice, but who cares about bonuses when you can’t live long enough to actually survive to get conquest for more/better gear?


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 235,716 victims
May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

