Do you remember the Shire, Mr. Frodo?

“Do you remember the Shire, Mr. Frodo? It’ll be spring soon. And the orchards will be in blossom. And the birds will be nesting in the hazel thicket. And they’ll be sowing the summer barley in the lower fields… and eating the first of the strawberries with cream. Do you remember the taste of strawberries?” -Sam to Frodo, The Return of the King, JRR Tolkien

swamp1

Will this be flooded? Will this dry up? Will the sun still set and rise on Azeroth?

Though I may be getting ahead of myself, I cannot help but feel a profound sadness at the eventual loss of Azeroth as we know it.  The game just won’t be the same.  In anticipation of the cataclysmic events, I’ve started my Farewell Tour:  sight seeing, questing, dungeons, old haunts, landscapes, people, events, music… music?

MUSIC???

Enough that my sensitive mind is quivering with fear at losing some of it’s favorite zones, what will happen to the music in the “revamped” versions of these zones?  We will have two Barrens apparently, but will they have our current music?  What about the hauntingly beautiful voice from Feralas and Ashenvale?  The little creepy piano from zones like Silverpine Forest and Duskwood?

If you’re not in as much a panic about this as I am, and you just want to slightly protect yourself against a possible eternal loss, check out the Blizzard Online Jukebox [not the official name] and the World of Warcraft Soundtrack which features 30 of the most recognizable pieces of music from our game.

I, on the other hand, do not heed the words of advice of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  I DO PANIC!  What I have done is ripped all the music from the game onto my hard drive.  I only had to repair my copy of WoW once afterward, too! :/  I discovered some things after having done this… mainly that most zones have different soundtracks for night and day, and that there appears to be 3 variations for most of the night and day themes.  The music is not split by zones but rather by environment; Desert, Forest, Haunted Forest, Evil Forest, Mountains, Hills, etc…

Keep in mind I did manage to break my WoW doing this, and had to run the repair utility to make it work… but if you’re a freak like me and want to have a WoW playlist for those moments that you cannot play WoW, have a look at this guide on how to rip all the music from the game so you can have it chime along merrily in your media player of choice!

http://www.ehow.com/how_4705307_extract-music-world-warcraft.html

barrens1

😦 How I will miss thee, my Barrens!

0 Responses to “Do you remember the Shire, Mr. Frodo?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

feared

  • 236,566 victims
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

