How to have the most fun in Isle of Conquest

The new battleground is a hoot. I love it. Especially when I join a game already in progress and zone into an invading Alliance force in my base that proceeds to kill me before my screen even loads. And then camps our graveyard inside our base to prevent any defenders from rezzing properly and hindering them.

What makes it even more fun, I know, crazy, too much fun all around, is that the Alliance can’t assault this graveyard until they bring down one of our gates… essentially, it means that our graveyard is taken only when there are 30-40 seconds left in the game.

The first time it happened, I fought. I clawed. I raged. I bit, I scratched and I gave the evil eye. I did anything and everything. There were roughly 5 or 6 of us rezzing with each tic, and in a little over five minutes we amassed nearly 7 HKs. That’s right.

WE DID NOT GO GENTLY INTO THAT GOOD NIGHT!
WE RAGED, RAGED AGAINST THE DYING OF THE LIGHT!

Then the second time it happened, I played it like Paladins used to grind. I alt tabbed and watch dirty videos, periodically checking in to see the camping still going on and moving my ghost so I didn’t afk out.

And unless I see 20 dots on my minimap and realize we’re really defending and not just throwing ourselves against a brick wall, that’s what I’ll do everytime. I don’t blame the Alliance, as I think they have to do it in the same way Horde has to do it to them if they’re inside their keep… but it stands to be pointed out that not once in the games that we landed a force by their keep did I see this kind of spawn camping. We went about our business of blowing up their gates and then would fight whenever they poured out of their graveyard area. Probably stupid of us to do it that way, and it could be specific to my battlegroup, but yeah. It seems “do not camp graveyards in BGs” is more ingrained in the Horde than the Alliance… at least during the times I play.

3 Responses to “How to have the most fun in Isle of Conquest”


  1. 1 Diz August 13, 2009 at 1:41 am

    Considering I do IoC on my DK … a lot, Horde do the exact same thing. But I will admit that I like to camp the graveyard only because they’ve done it to me. Otherwise I’m just in the Alliance Courtyard defending it from groups of 2-4. Easily dispatching one after another. Blood DKs are OP.

  2. 2 latusthegoat August 13, 2009 at 2:53 am

    -grin- i think it’s weird, but I’ve yet to see my side farm the GY. I don’t doubt they do, though, obviously…

  3. 3 Emily August 17, 2009 at 12:44 am

    The Horde sound nice on your server. They are just big mean jerks on mine. 😦


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 235,714 victims
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

