Alevia the Frenzied Defender

I set a new personal record on Alevia last night, 428 damage in a single blow.

She’s pretty badass! I had never gone higher than 350 prior to yesterday, and this swing was a beauty!

Allies grabbed our flag while a big swarm of us was running with our own flag carrier through the tunnels to our base… I lagged behind them to pick off the daredevils that would attempt to hinder the pack. Noticing our flag was coming down the ramp, I charged into the first flag carrier close to our tunnel, killed him as he was level 16 but then failed to be click the flag. Another Ally picked it up. Hamstring, bam bam pow pow, the next ally drops and a third Shaman picks it up. I got rooted at that point by someone who had come to their flag carrier’s help, and so I waited patiently while I went out of combat… I ran up a bit, charged, spamstring, and continued the assault. He kept managing to heal himself through the beating I was administering, and I missed renewing a hamstring due to being rage starved. BOO! For the un-warrior-ducated, Spamstring refers to constantly spamming the Hamstring ability which slows movement by 50% for 9 or 10 seconds. It’s the only way warriors can beat ranged who could instead just run around and spam insta spells on the warrior, especially in this bracket composed primarily of hunters and autoshot. I missed spamstringing that Shaman.

So anyways, there I am, chasing this Shaman who is now out of mana and around 250 health and closing in on the hill with his graveyard, clearly looking for support. I thought it would be fairly easy to finish it off. Boy was I wrong.

Suddenly out of their graveyard came something akin to a big truck, albeit in the form of two twink hunters. The first stupid spider pet webs me as I get dazed and my health drops alarmingly fast below 1000. My flag carrying target is getting ever further away from me, so I decide to make a dash for it and pop a haste potion as soon as the web and stun wear off. Of course, I forgot there’s a second spider, and second stun. But they hit both at the same time and I trinket out and keep running at the flag carrier. My health is below 300 now and I know I’m about to die, but then WHITE DAMAGE from a regular swing crits the Shaman mid-heal for 428. I manage to click the flag before the hunters finish me off.

Big, big, BIG victory to Alevia. Mmmmm!

I was a flag retrieving machine that round, getting my Frenzied Defender (return 5 flags in one roung) achievement and then going even higher to 7 flags returned. A Warlock in this fight was also my nemesis that I would just absolutely steamroll with damage, despite his fears, and a beautiful showdown took place at the end of what was a dramatic Horde come from behind win, but I’ve blabbed enough about that one round for the day! (Actually, it’s because I have a screenshot at home I want to use for THAT story!).

5 Responses to “Alevia the Frenzied Defender”


  1. 1 Kelsey July 28, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    I’m not very good at clicking the flag in time to return it. I think possibly because I’m always ranged, so I’m not right next to it when it drops. I try so hard, though! I want that achievement.

  2. 2 latusthegoat July 28, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    You have to spam the empty screen around where the person is about to die, that’s what everyone else is doing!

  3. 3 Tania July 28, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    😀

    I wish I wasn’t so terrible at melee, my rogue hits pretty hard, but I just can’t keep her close enough to people running away.

  4. 4 Former Jailbait July 30, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    This sounds like an alarmingly huge amount of fun. I have no idea what this is or where you can do it, but yeah, sounds like you had a good time. Congratulations on your victory :D.

  5. 5 Anthony July 30, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Warsong Gulch annoys me because Alliance tend to suck at it on my battlegroup. Get a decent team and it’s awesome, otherwise it’s just completely frustrating.

    I’m also similarly terrible about returning the flag, since I actually wait until it appears before trying to click on it. That spam clicking thing seems like a good idea, will have to try it.


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 235,716 victims
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

