Lies and slander

I’ve noticed that anyone who asks for help with their DPS on the forums that isn’t a totally new player usually inflates their numbers stupidly.

“Hi I’m an MM hunter and I want to know if you can get any tips and advice on my rotation and spec, maybe the gear too, here’s a link to my armory… I normally do 7000 DPS unbuffed but I see other people doing 8000 and I want to do it too.”

“Hi I’m a destro lock and I do 8000 DPS but I’m trying to hit 10k can you give me pointers here’s a link to the last WWS report.”

You know what I call? Bullshit.  These people maybe do 4k at most unbuffed.  Considering they’re using anonymous internet forums to brag about a possibly non-existent DPS they get, I’m guessing they really do even less.  If you’re hitting 7-8k DPS in any way without special fight mechanics (Thaddius, Yogg, etc…) then you most definitely do not need advice from a general populace that rarely hits 4k.   In fact, you’re good enough that you know exactly what to do to improve even more or whether it’s even theoretically possible to improve anymore.

So we’re left with two possibilities:

1 – They’re lying.  I claim this is 99% true.

2 – They’re just bragging to make others feel bad.  This is probably what happens to the one person who isn’t lying about this.

Next time you see a forum post about a hunter, rogue or warlock or whatever doing 8000 DPS and looking for an optimal spec, just reply with something classy and to the point.

YOU NO TAKE CANDLE!

3 Responses to “Lies and slander”


  1. 1 Diz July 10, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    People from Eventide(Ciderhelm’s guild) and Months Behind(Lore’s guild) don’t even do that kind of dps. The highest I’ve seen from them is 7.5k-8k BUFFED 25man in one of their vids(that wasn’t a special fight). And even then, it’s still special circumstance! These people are crazy… crazy dumb… crazy stupid… gah.

  2. 2 Tania July 10, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    I do 5 billion DPS on my holy priest. How do I make this better?

  3. 3 Twonationarmy July 10, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Whoa its Latus o_o

    Heya, fine blog you’ve got here!


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 236,569 victims
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

