Brief Hiatus

Brief hiatus, as you’ve (you as in the non-existent reader) noticed.  10man group blew up temporarily, girlfriend is visiting for 10 days, and a general feeling of burn-out from letting about 15 players piggy-back through 25 man content.  Let’s go over this one by one.

1.  Priest healer has to work overtime a lot.  2nd Priest healer’s computer died.  Warrior tank’s house was broken into and all the electronics stolen.  10man, dead.  On the cusp of Glory of the Raider, and we blew up.  Hopefully everything works out for the tank, and the priest settles nicely at work, and the last priest gets her computer fixed… in time to finish that dang achievement before 3.1 hits.

2. girlfriend’s visiting.  Well, yeah.  I still took a quick jaunt through about 2/3rds of our heroic naxx on saturday, but I’m barely online for obvious reasons.

3. I have been top dps in the guild heroic runs since the very first time we ventured into 25 man Sarth.  This trend has continued into Naxx and Malygos.  There are fights where I fall to top 5, or even lower, of course, depending on my assignments or the mechanics of the fight, but I am, have been, and don’t foresee losing, the status of top DPS.  My gear has received perhaps 3 upgrades from Naxx and one from Malygos (3 of those upgrades are very recent, from 2 weeks ago).  Other people have gotten geared out the frickin’ ass, other warlocks have gotten gear I needed (multiple pieces in one run), and yet the one constant remains: I’m top dps.  What this means, of course, is that most of our dps sucks.  Which I understand… we’re casual raiders in the sense of not expecting 100% dedication.  We don’t mind taking a few people who have recently hit 80 and helping them out, we don’t mind taking people who are new to raiding and we don’t mind taking it easy on them.

I don’t mind that either, I love seeing people who have become part of the guild throughout their levelling career actually join a raid and see how fun it can be.  But c’mon, the “established” people who have been raiding for a long time, who are in 5/5 Valorous gear (I still have 1 piece, the one I bought with badges that I saved up before the guild even ventured into H Naxx for a first time), really need to step it up.

Specific points of contention:

-players who refuse to socket / enchant their gear.  We have a warlock specifically who now has 4/5 Valorous and has SPELL PENETRATION as one of his gems.  He has about 190 spell hit, but has the spell power enchant on his gloves (and that only because an officer forced him to enchant before a raid).  His newly acquired Turning Tide is unenchanted.  His cloak has no enchant.  He has mp5 gems in his Valorous chest.  He has 350 enchanting but his rings have no enchants.  If you have best in slot, there’s no excuse for not having the BEST enchant.  If you have blues, get 2nd best or 3rd best enchants and gems.  They’re cheap.  If you have greens, what the fuck are you doing in my raid.  Go farm some low level dungeons and heroics.

-players who refuse to get their own food.  If we don’t provide a feast of some kind, half the raid is without a food buff. 

-players who refuse to buy flasks.  No, 10 minutes into the raid isn’t the time to ask “should I bring flasks to raids”.  Yes, they’re expensive. Suck. It. The. Fuck. Up.

 

Every goddamn raid we’ve ever done, I was there, flasked, with the top enchants I could muster, with the absolute best food for my class.  Shards farmed in advance to not run the risk of running out, repaired, and half the time with extra flasks, potions, pots and food for others who forgot.

Being new, not a problem.

Being a noob, big problem.

8 Responses to “Brief Hiatus”


  1. 1 Ben (doeslife) March 23, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Jesus Christ, I’ve never played WoW and I don’t know what you’re talking about, but “-players who refuse to buy flasks. No, 10 minutes into the raid isn’t the time to ask “should I bring flasks to raids”. Yes, they’re expensive. Suck. It. The. Fuck. Up.” made me lol.

    Good work. Good blog. I’ll be following.

  2. 2 Rim March 26, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    I can’t believe gems/chants and consumables are still an issue. Maybe it’s time for a zero tolerance policy. There are cheap cheap gems and enchants that are still far better than nothing.

  3. 3 Anthony April 8, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Somewhat late, but I was only just linked to your blog (Kelsey wanted to show off how special she was when she got her own post):
    I feel your pain. WoW guilds are by far the most frustrating thing I’ve ever encountered, and that includes all of the shit I had to deal with when playing Achaea.

    I think the major problem is that a lot of people in casual guilds think that the label “casual” means people won’t mind that they’re incompetent; and in my experience a lot of the guild leaders are more than happy to reinforce that.

  4. 4 Shaggir April 12, 2009 at 2:31 am

    You bitch and moan a lot. You should be like me, and be quiet and subdued.

    Ok… so back on this planet.

    I’m so over it. Completely, and utterly over it… and sorry, we’re not all OP affliction locks 😛 ❤ u however

  5. 5 latusthegoat April 12, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I should just DPS as a prot warrior more often, I won’t feel so annoyed at everyone else’s dps!

    😀

  6. 6 Anthony April 12, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    I’ve hit 3.1k on bosses as Prot Paladin. Well, one boss – Erekem in Violet Hold (on heroic), due to the two adds he has with him. Fun times. Don’t normally get anywhere near that high – about 1.3k, depending on how much movement is involved. Having to fill a DPS role as Prot makes me cringe, though.

    I chuckle for a few seconds when I out-DPS a nearly full epic Hunter on Naxx 10 man bosses. Then I remember that she’s my guild leader and I just want to cry. 😦

  7. 7 latusthegoat April 12, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I was getting about 1k dps, apparently, but I didn’t have any addons to really be certain. I felt good when for some reason I’d aggro things and NOT DIE IN 1 HIT!

  8. 8 Anthony April 12, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    The not dying in one hit thing is the best part of being a tank. Plus it’s a hell of a lot more interesting than my one trial of post-80 Retribution has led me to believe DPSing is.

    Of course, knowing that the whole raid depends on you not fucking up is kind of stressful on some of the longer Naxx bosses (*cough*Kel’Thuzad*cough*).


Leave a Reply

feared

  • 235,714 victims
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

